Skip to content

10 things about me

September 23, 2010

Lovely Jaime has nominated me for a beautiful blogger award. So, here’s ten things that people might not know about me (except for the Red Buttons, who probably know most things there are to know about me)….

1. I hate with a passion being able to hear people eat. It drives me CRAZY!!! And given recent reliance on public transport, I think that eating on public transport should be banned. Full stop!

2. It has been reasonably hidden (I think at least) but deep down, my ideal dress style is super feminine. It has possibly been hidden for a while, because when I was about 10 I was teased lots by a girl for wearing frilly dresses all the time (damned schools not enforcing uniforms) and worked really hard at suppressing for a good deal of time after that. My ideal job (gees this is so superficial) is being able to wear gorgeous clothing to work everyday (fortunately I can definitely think of one place to work that would welcome this dress code).  I think this super femininity was possibly ingrained from a pretty early age as all we ever watched as kids were the 0ld school MGM musicals, Judy Garland and Micky Rooney movies, Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers etc etc. I hold my Dad responsible for this, who still thinks a teddy suit is the height of fashion.

3. For Jaime: I am ok at roller skating too. I passed all the ‘star classes’ to join th figure skating club and about two years ago took up ice-skating classes as an adult, with all these tricky little kids,as part of a complicated self bribe about doing more exercise. unfortunately it was short lived, but for seemingly good at the time reasons.

4. When suitably motivated I am super determined to master a new skill.  I started to learn piano when I was 13 and was one exam away from being able to teach it by the end of highschool. I would really like to work in an area where I feel so passionately motivated to excel, but honestly, that is possibly not so strong at the moment.

5. Just as I’m going to bed, I have a specific order re: lighting. Firstly, a lamp must be turned on, and then main light turned off. I can’t go to bed with big light just switched off, it’s some crazy thing about environment controll and also I just love lamp light.

6. I find often find the lamest jokes the funniest i.e, ‘why did the scarecrow win the nobel peace prize?’ ‘because he was ‘out standing’ in his feild’-tehe. (thanks Rae’s dad for that one)

7. When I was little, I was pretty convinced that I was going to marry prince William, because it seemed like the logical thing to do at the time. We’re pretty much the same age, (coincidence, I thought not!) and I could build a pretty neat castle out of cardboard- what more can a guy ask for?

8. Red is my most favourite colour, particularly red shiny things. Dorothy slippers may be largely responsible for this. As a result I had shiny red shoes for my wedding.

9. My ideal home would be a tree house, wrapped around the trunk of an ancient tree, in a cold rainforest with lots of rain and walls covered in shelves full of books. With Mr Sippity of course.

10. This is a bizare one, but I am so happy to be ‘grown up’. Since I was pretty little, I have always been a maker of things, and was so frustrated with lack of skill to make super cool ideas that I thought of. These days, if I thought about it long enough and tried hard enough I’m pretty certain I could make almost anything I thought of, and that is pretty darned exciting- the possibilities are endless when you think about it:) Does anybody else associate with this feeling??

Right, I know I’m supposed to nominate 5 people, but I don’t really know that many people in blog land, so I nominate Michele, from Quilts and Horses, who is also new to blog land.

 I’m taking a blogging break for a week or so because we’re off to Scotland for a while- yipee!! Am secretly hoping I will spot the Loch Ness monster and will be steering well clear of seemingly ‘vegetarian’ hagas (which apparently exists) ater mistake of eating black pudding.

xo

Flo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 11:28 am

    I’m exactly the same about my bedside lamp at night! I always turn it on before turning off the main light.
    Have fun up in Soctland!

    • October 9, 2010 8:56 pm

      Thanks Lesley, we had a great time.
      That is so very bizare that you do the same with your bedside lamp!!

Leave a Reply

