Skip to content

What’s in the bag Monday?

September 20, 2010

Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend. We had a great one. First, there was the vintage car show (the Brits really do love their old stuff). It was an absolute highlight for Mr Sippity who sat in a lamborghini, for the first, but not the last time he assures me-huh!

My all time favourite was this sweet little caravan set up. The car comes fitted with picnic basket and a record player.

Second ranking, is the Austin mail service car. A few models before Postman Pat’s I reckon.

There was great novel value in this reproduction Chitty, which was even fitted with fold away wings.

This little bloke seems to have lost his way and is just consulting the map before he peddles away.

And this little fellow was trying to tough it up around the motorbike section. He is super cute, no matter how hard he tries.

There’s also been a fair bit of baking going on. On a second walk to Quar Abbey, I picked as many blackberries as I could along the way. They’re in full season at the moment, and the novel value of being able to pick free food has definitely not worn off yet. Despite the scratched up hands, and heaps of nettle stings. From this lot, I made a baked blackberry cheesecake with biscuit base, and blackberry muffins. Half is frozen and I’m not quiet sure what to do with them- any suggestions other than jam??

And here are some shots of Quarr Abbey. It has it’s own farm with fruit and veg and ): pigs. After meeting these little ones, I felt so very happy about being a vegetarian!! I haven’t met too many pigs before and they are surprisingly affectionate. I reckon I’d have a tea-cup one perhaps over a dog if I had the space. I think the church was built around early 1900’s, but I love the strange resemblance to a huge Lego model (thank’s David 🙂

Hm, and what exactly is in the red button bag this week? I really need to find a new knitting project to test my beautiful new needles! Well, not exactly in the bag, is the traced pattern for the Lady Grey Jacket. I’m so glad I have met Jaime in blog land. She is super organised and because of her I’ve finally started to make some progress. Have also finished muslin for this Vintage Vogue pattern. I’ve started a new blog (A Home Sewn Year), specifically to document dress making stuff following a self-imposed challenge of one year without buying new clothes (hah-thos- who have seen me on a regular basis may wonder why this is a challenge, given I pretty much live in 2 pairs of jeans and t-shirts).

Hope you have a productive week! I’m definitely planning on one at least

xo

Flo

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 8:30 am

    Fresh blackberries. How delicious.

    • September 21, 2010 9:39 am

      Michelle, did your dog get a new coat again this year? Your dog would feel right at home amongst all these well loved dogs over here with their littl outfits.

  2. Rachel Kerr permalink
    October 11, 2010 3:51 am

    Frozen blackberries sound perfect for some sort of frozen vodka-laden cocktail! Rae xx

Leave a Reply

