Skip to content

To stay-stitch or not?

September 14, 2010

Is stay stitching something you do religiously? When I made my wedding dress, I saw a sewing teacher who swore by this, in every stage of the sewing to avoid stretching or distorting the pieces. So I’m trying to be good and follow her advice in future sewing projects. This is the muslin for the dress that I’m ‘reinterpreting’ (sounds a little nicer than ‘copying’, because some modifications will be made). It’s going to get a lot of handling in the fitting stages of things, so it was definitely stay-stitched. But I can’t help thinking it’s a bit of extra effort that could possibly be avoided at times. What are your preferences- are there times you decide not to? Is your choice dependend on fabric type, type of garment, fit required etc?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 10:04 pm

    In my head I’d like to think I’d stay-stitch, but I’m always in such a hurry that I might not be so good.

  2. September 17, 2010 2:09 pm

    I stay stitch if I’m concerned the edge is going to “grow”. Necklines for sure and recently as I was sewing my Anita jeans, I stay stitched the top edge before putting on the waistband so I could try them on, unfinished, without distorting them. 🙂

    • September 17, 2010 5:32 pm

      right, i know just the jeans you’re talking about. great advice- thankyou!

Leave a Reply

