Skip to content

Stitching and cooking

September 9, 2010

Today has involved a lot of cooking and stitching, not all so successful.

With about an hour before the post office was due to close I remembered it was my little cousin’s birthday in the next few days. She is just fascinated by spiders and they are a pretty significant conversation topic for her at the moment. So I very quickly whipped up this. It’s pretty wonky and I’m not entirely satisfied with it, but that’s often the outcome of pedal to the metal style sewing for me. Which is why I take a painfully long time to make things sometimes.

Mr Sippity and I have been discussing making our own bread for a while given his major disappointment with UK shop bought bread. I haven’t done any serious bread making before and had a hunch the dough was just a bit dry before baking. It was super crusty, but more in the break your teeth fashion with a super dense middle. I figure things can’t get much worse than this and it’s upwards from her on.

I also had a trial run at Mr Sippity’s birthday cake in preparation for the weekend. He is having a ‘desert party’, in which desert is given absolute priority over sensible food. He just loves rabbits so much, he requested a rabbit shaped cake. Inspired by efforts of Dottie Cookie, I used a rabbit mould and created a thick chocolate shell, to hold a small ice cream cake. The chocolate mould tipped out of the rabbit beautifully. The ice cream however didn’t quiet set, in fact started to melt in the chocolate due to serious lack of power from our teeny-tiny freezer.  The peppermint ice cream has a range of gummy style lollies mixed through it. I reckon this would work a treat with a better freezer.

Hope you had a slightly more successful day!

xo

Flo

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 11:55 pm

    I love the softie! I always add only half the flour for bread and then slowly mix more in until I get the right consistency. From one day to the next I may need one cup of flour more/less than what the recipe calls for. And I like to knead the dough using oil instead of flour (for whole-wheat breads). Good luck on your next try!

  2. September 11, 2010 7:13 am

    Happy birthday to your rabbit loving man.

  3. September 11, 2010 8:51 am

    Hey Flo, I just found your blog. Loving it, loving it. Miss Peppermint Patcher told me about it today at our favourite shop.
    Keep up the good work.

    Bet you can’t guess who this is. Talk to you soon Flo

Leave a Reply

