Skip to content

Procrastination

August 27, 2010

I must admit, I have not been as focused as I would like on sewing things lately, or the blog for that mater, which is feeling pretty neglected at this point.  I spent about a week focussing seriously on getting a job. Mission accomplished on the job side of things. And then there was the post recovery phase from getting job….  However I’m going to be hanging around for almost two months waiting for security checks etc to be completed before I can start the job. There has been a fair bit of  finger pricking, unpicking and re-stitching, and quiet a bit of swearing going on, which has possibly also affected the progress of things. 

I do though have a lovely scrap pile now, which I have using to make things like this book cover…

It’s a birthday present for one of my friends older sisters. My favourite part about making things for other people is the time I spend thinking about them while stitching away. As I made this, I considered the  influence that this lovely chick has had on my life, even though our lives don’t cross that often. Her enthusiasm about her uni degree at the time inspired me while I was in highschool to study my profession. And as I thought about her infectious enthusiasm, I realised the possible ripple effect she’d had on my life. She knew a mutual friend of my husband and I’s who took the course also after being inspired by her. Our friend then encouraged my husband to join also.I was left with a bit of spiraling feeling, considering all the possible ‘what if’s’ that alter the course of our lives. Hm, thinking of spiraling feelings, am considering how disapointed I’ll be if don’t have all planned quilt tops finished by time I start work….

Happy stitching

xo

Flo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 9:43 am

    Congratulations on your new job 🙂

    The lady who you made the book cover for sounds like a lovely person.

  2. August 28, 2010 3:53 pm

    Congrats on the new job, Flo… very exciting! Hope all goes well. And just LOVE how you created this book cover–it’s beautiful! Happy Weekend ((HUGS))

  3. August 29, 2010 12:39 am

    I love the time I spend inside my own head while I sew. It’s almost like meditation.

    Very sweet book cover. I’m certain it will be well loved.

Leave a Reply

