Skip to content

What’s in the bag Monday

July 26, 2010

Right, am cheating a bit on this one. Here is a dress that I made just before coming to the UK. Pattern was bought from Pom Pom Rouge– pretty much the best make space/shop I’ve encountered. And the design  is from Colette Patterns.

I hadn’t heard of this brilliant woman’s patterns before Pom Pom Rouge started stocking them. But I must say, it leaves other commercial patterns I’ve used in the dust. With the great tips from Gertie, re: bust adjustments for my rather petite bust size (eh-hem), the pattern fits perfectly. The only adjustment was to decrease the size of the darts at the back, which were so large, fitted my front (possibly not saying too  much about dart size though :). I know that she intended to shape the back for people’s natural slouchiness, but I always seem to pull my shoulders back, so this didn’t work for me.  And there is just something about the drape of the skirt not quiet right- and it has a large ripple not entirely sure what that’s about.

In case you haven’t already had the pleasure of using one of these patterns, they layout of the instruction booklet is beautiful, with  clear instructions. Would highly recommend these. She also designs her patterns to accommodate  curvaceous women (ie those fortunate to have a little more packaging than me) and her designs look flattering on a range of different shapes and sizes.

So here it is…

The gathered pocket is definitely my favourite part.

Bodice detail.

You can probably notice that I put the interfacing on the outer shell of the waistband which crinkles the fabric. Valuable lessons for next time. 

Lovely views from this morning.

Oky doky- now back to work

Have a great week

xo

Flo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 1:30 pm

    I love the pockets on your dress!

  2. July 29, 2010 10:56 am

    What a gorgeous dress!! You look fabulous.
    Sorry to take so long to get back to you re your request.
    can I let you know how i am travelling next week with things. My current job finishes tomorrow and i have a few things to finish (start) next week – like a quilt for a froend whose birthday has been and gone. I do have some pretty nice fabric though – thanks to a trip to the ‘Ville and lots of Tanya’s throw outs!! plus a trip to Pom Pom Rouge!!

    Take Care Flo
    michelle

    • July 29, 2010 3:26 pm

      yeah, no dramas at all. after i sent it i thought it was prolly a pretty bad time for you. let us know how you’re travelling for time. hehe, glad you could inherit some great fabric. there had to be some benefit to tanya leaving 😦

  3. July 30, 2010 3:26 pm

    GORGEOUS dress, Flo! It suits & fits you so well… love that fabric & those pockets! Such pretty all-around styling & details. I’ve not done any sewing of clothing in a long time… this inspires! Happy Days… :o) Oh, I’m having some giveaway fun… stop by if you get a chance…

Leave a Reply

