Skip to content

What’s in the bag? Monday

July 19, 2010

It feels like I’ve been doing a lot of talking here and not so much making. And then there are the lovely distractions and things that must be observed on a daily a basis like this….

 

But things are slowly in progress.

Here are some of the things currently stuffed into my little red button bag….(perhaps a little more honestly, spread across my desk)

This little fella will be made of scraps from little people s clothing. It is a sample of some interfacing that I’m trailing to stabilise the knit material before using these clothes to make a memory quilt. But really a shameless excuse for making a softie. It reminds me a little bit of the little baby owl Plop, who is afraid of the dark. Something about the density of the population here has sparked an interest in being a little more conscious of recycling. So I’m thinking about other options for making softies in a similar way. I’m really liking the scrappy look of this little fellow that I have in my head.

As I’ve mentioned many times now, I can’t help spending a bit of time watching these lovely little boats passing by. Mr Sippity who is a very good sailor, also likes watching the boats. He sometimes provides a little commentary on how well they’re putting up their spinnaker, etc etc and gets frustrated on their behalf when things aren’t going so well for them.

So I’m thinking about channeling these thoughts to a saily type of quilt.

The aquas, retro oranges and yellows are the colours of some of my favourite boat keels that I see mored in Cowes Bay.

Ok, now off to some sewing work. Have a lovely week

xoxo

Flo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 1:39 pm

    I didn’t think it would be long before sailing provided you with inspiration.

  2. July 19, 2010 9:42 pm

    Lovely to find you!! Look forward to reading all about your adventures!

    Michelle
    (aka – green pancakes girl)

  3. July 20, 2010 2:36 pm

    Hello, Flo! Thank you so much for visiting me, and for your thoughtful comments on creating & Etsy, and encouragement. It is great to meet you and find your crafty place here. But with views like the one’s you’re sharing, easy to get lost and let stitches drop. ;o) Breathtaking… I look forward to visiting again. Happy Days!

  4. pompomrouge permalink
    July 22, 2010 12:14 am

    Hi Flo
    The colour of the water is so lovely! No wonder you feel inspired. It’s great to see your sewing machine set up and busy. Toot Sweet is thoroughly gorgeous – may there be many, many more little owls and quilts.
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

