Skip to content

Things underway

July 16, 2010

This week at knitting group, the lovely only bloke attending, Jake brought along his drop spindle and some wool from the sheep he helps to look after and taught me how to use it. For those who have never seen this before (which was also me before tuesday) the yarn wraps around the long end of the well, stick- I don’t actually know any of the technical terms. And then it feeds up through a hook. The spindly thing swings around in circles, while you hold onto the wool and feed it through to form part of the existing yarn. argh, very bad bad description, but it’s the best i got at the moment. It is just amazing watching him use it.

wool

His yarn is the lovely consistent thin stuff wrapped around the bottom. Mine is the chunky stuff with random thickness off the stick.

And he also bought along some other wool. The label says that it is grey Jacob wool? I think this means that it is the wool that Jake has brushed, but it could be the name of the sheep or the type of wool. I have absolutely no clue. But it is soo lovely and soft, almost too good to turn into wool- i just want to pat it.

Yesterday, I made an expedition down Portobello Rd to the Cloth Shop, to buy some awesome linen. Coming from the ‘ville, where there is only one shop  I know of that may stock such beautiful  fabric, it is a rare and very treaty purchase. When I walked into the shop there was a whole range of beutiful cotton fabric. It was just overwhelming and so lovely I felt like crying. Possibly only people from Townsville/ other areas far far away from big cities would understand this feeling. Ah, and the vintagy goodness- such as beautiful 1950’s styled dresses found in some of the other shops, were just to die for!

Anyway, lastly, I have been setting up my little sewing space and finally have my sewing machine back! I’m pretty thrilled and will start some sewing this weekend.

xoxo

Flo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 4:06 am

    Great to see the sewing machine is back in action.

    I was showing Kirsty and Tracey a video on Youtube about the spindle/spinning thing. It is pretty amazing isn’t it. You will be knitting your own spun yarn in no time.

  2. July 17, 2010 2:17 pm

    hehe- are you giong to say that i’m the type that knits my own yoghurt if i start doing this?

    • July 18, 2010 2:12 am

      Not quite… I’m actually quite interested in trying it myself. Will have to watch a bit more youtube first…

      • July 18, 2010 10:14 am

        I think it’s a really good idea, it’s pretty relaxing when you get into the swing of things and Jake reckons that fleece is pretty cheap on the net. And a whole lot cheaper than using a spinning wheel.

Leave a Reply

