Skip to content

A little sneaky shopping

July 8, 2010

Firstly, onto the first knitting group. It was lovely, about 15 to 20 women, oh and one youngish bloke, who was knitting a recorder warmer that he had also designed himself. It’s run in a trendy local cafe/art gallery. Glad to start meeting some locals, and v. inspiring ones at that.

I have been checking out a few op-shops lately around the island. I can justify fabric purchases but not much else. But there are always some things which just can’t be left behind….

Firstly, the vintage knitting patterns. Here’s one I might actually make. It doesn’t seem too difficult to follow, however for some sections, instead of instructing number of rows etc to be knitted, it says knit until x no. of inches has been made. I’m not sure how acurate this will be.  Does anyone have experience using vintage patterns/ have encounted this sort of thing? The other patterns will need to make a trip back to oz to someone who might appreciate them a little more.

Then onto the children’t books- A.A Milne’s Winnie The Pooh. I’ve never read it, but no better time than now I figure. It makes me chuckle- I love Pooh’s songs that he sings to himself. Also, I found the entire Brambley Hedge collection. I have a pretty tatty copy of ‘Summer Story’ at home, but this is the entire collection, in mint condition!! (I’m sounding a little guilty perhaps). When I was a kid, I read this so many times, staring at the excellant detail of the cellars,

wishing I could eat and make all the treats,

and thinking Poppy was one trickey little mouse managing to make her own wedding dress.

It seemed like such a good idea, that I decided to make my own.

This weekend, hoping to make it to ‘Bust Magazine Craftacular’ and hopefully pick up my sewing machine!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 6:31 am

    The illustrations in the books are divine. I’m glad you’re finding some inspiring crafty people nearby.

Leave a Reply

