Skip to content

First finished knitting project!

November 22, 2010

If you are not a regular visitor to my blog- thankyou for popping by. Before reading my usual rants, I would encourage you to visit this very talented lady’s page. She has just completed a range of quilt patterns that are truely beautiful

Starting work has kind of taken centre stage, but there’s still plenty of craftiness going on in the wings. I am so excited to have finally finished a knitting project. (apologies for the rubbish photos)

NB: same crazy fluffy hair as pattern lady is sadly a coincidence.  

It’s possibly not the trendiest, but its super comfy and will keep me warm and hey, right now, with the no new clothes challenge, I’m getting a little desperate! The weather is forecasted for snow this week (but I think it’s highly unlikely!). If you asked me this time last year, there is also no way that I could have imagined knitting a cardigan. 

However just a few reflective points (probably so glaringly obvious) for any knitting newbies like myself:

(1) You may tell yourself, ‘but this cheap wool is really all I can afford at the moment’- DON’T BUY IT!!! unless you are genuinely OK with having an average looking fluffball product at the end. And as much as you might tell yourself this is OK, chances are you will be just a little bit disappointed at the end after putting in so much hard work.

(2) You may be desperate to start sewing your pieces together once finished, even though you don’t have a proper blunt ended needle and think ‘smeh, a regular large needle will be just fine, I just really want to finish it NOW’. This is a dangerous thought. Your seams will look chunky and bodgy, and you will want to unpick them. But because you’ve sewn them so thoroughly, you have split all the wool and it will be near impossible to undo. If you can use a ladder stitch to connect the pieces where possible, it is a great idea and although takes much longer will produce a neater seam.

What sorts of finishing techniques do you use for joining your knitting?

(3) When blocking, really do be very careful not to steam the welted/ribbed edging (hehem, as the pattern suggests).

I’m glad though in a sense that this was inexpensive wool. It let me relax a lot more with my stitching, and miraculously allowed my stockinett stitch to become a little better, with my tension and stitch definition improving.

I’ve got a few more lines left on the green stripey cardi (as the background picture for the header). This was my first actual knitting project.

very happy stitching.

xo

Flo

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 10:20 pm

    Congratulations Flo!! Yay for finishing your first item – there is a nice picture to put on your Ravelry page ;)

    Your knitting looks very neat and even. I’m still in love with the whole knitting process… as well as crochet and have just finally started to find my sewing mojo again. Am doing a huge hand appliqued thing that I have started this week.

    Hope you and Mike are well. Miss you.

    Paige says hi, she has been playing with the lovely doll you made for her lately. We call her Flo.

    • November 22, 2010 10:25 pm

      man you’re quick on the ball. this post is especially for you (and kirsty). thanks- i’ve tried so hard to get the stitching looking consistent- you can imagine i’m sure-hehe. that is the loveliest that you’ve called her flo- makes me a bit teary actually. miss you guys so much too. am really missing seeing her growing up.

  2. November 22, 2010 10:29 pm

    Paige will still be here when you get back, she does have a lot of growing to do. I took her to Red Buttons last night and she behaved pretty well I thought.

    I have just finished my first lace shawl – details at Ravelry, have now cast on the Citron shawl in a beautiful silk/cashmere (I know what you mean about the cheapy yarns….).

    • November 22, 2010 10:45 pm

      ooh, ok just popping over now. i am in absolute aw re: your ability to make lacey knitted stuff.
      she is sort of a founding member i think, so i’m sure she keeps that in mind when attending :)

  3. November 23, 2010 12:29 am

    Wow – you’re just so clever at everything you set out to do. Love it heaps! Wish I could knit like that. As it is, I don’t even have much time to sew anymore…

  4. November 23, 2010 4:11 am

    Thank you for your beautiful words. It seems that you have learnt a lot from your knitting project.

  5. Rachel permalink
    November 29, 2010 5:50 am

    Woman, I can’t believe you knitted that! You are so, so clever!
    Rae xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

