Skip to content

Next Knitting Project

October 21, 2010

Right, this may be a little pie-in-the sky  type thinking and just a smidge over ambitious, but this is one of the next project I’d like to make. It’s one of the free patterns from Faded Splendor. I love it so very much. It’s made up in 2-ply or fingerling yarn. I’m not entirely sure what this is, but I’m guessing it’s pretty thin. It has a some sort of tricky holey looking pattern other than stocking or rib stitches, but hey, how hard can it be? (please stitching gods, don’t laugh too hard when I secretly delete this sentence in a moment of frustration and embarrassment ok?)

Despite the tricky pattern and super fine yarn, I think it might also take my mind off stocking stitch for  a little while, which would be good. Every now and then I get these small lumpy patches where just one or two stitches are a bit larger than the other. I think it makes the work look so very dodgily handmade, instead of the lovely smooth stitches that make me love hand knitting so much. I try to keep my tension consistent and wrap the yarn around my little finger so the yarn can be released quickly. I also try to go at a moderate speed, because if I go too slowly and focus on each stitch, I find my tension gets pretty tight. I think maybe because I go at this speed sometime I might be letting one slip a bit. Any suggestions???

Happy stitching

xo

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 10:11 am

    I was with you until 2-ply, then I drifted off and thought about quilts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

